And now, the end is near.

Mere hours until I leave Australia.

I wanted to post one more time from here out of sheer sentimentality.  There is something rite-of-passagey about last things.  Though you would think that it would have lost its glamour a bit given that, having gone through this routine before, I know that a ‘last time’ is only last in the sense that I don’t know when I will do it again.  That I will do it again, somewhere with someone, is pretty certain (pretty certain – oxymororn…).

I am feeling a whole range of excitement about being in Beijing and starting work there.  I am not feeling any sadnesses about leaving the familiar and understood.

This was my view from my apartment in Dubai (a little edited).

This was the view from one of my apartments in Sydney.  Well, when I walked out the door of the building and leaned over the railing.

I don’t have a photo from my apartment in Canberra because I didn’t think taking a photo of a row of garages would be worth taking.

I seem to have lost my photo of my view from my balcony in India, but I will try to describe it.  I was on the the first floor and looked down upon the very well tended, lush green garden,: a grassed area framed by heavy scented night jasmine that languished upon the old, sagging iron gates. A flame tree dominated the garden, standing grand and regal in the middle of the lawn.  A jack fruit tree provided me slow entertainment, conducive to the heat, as I watched the fruit grow from what look like a dead leaf into obese green fruit.  And if I looked hard enough through the leaves of the many other bushes and smaller trees, I could see the building across the lane. I had that very rare luxury in India – a feeling of space.

Which brings me to this: I wonder what my view will be from my apartment in China.  You can be certain that I will share it with you!

See you in Beijing!

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And now, the end is near.

  1. Kylie says:

    Hey, Traveller! You must be into the job and very busy now, since we haven’t seen a post for a while. Hope it’s going well, and when you get the chance, more pics and writing, please! xo KLF

Well whaddaya think of that?

