The view from my window

When I arrived, I had been traveling for an very uncomfortable, hideously delayed 26 hours.  It should have been a 10 hour trip.  It was about 6 in the morning in Beijing, I was met by the happiest bus driver in the world who chatted to me all the way home.

Here’s what I noticed on that trip:

  • it was QUIET
  • there were people with dogs everywhere
  • the morning mist never seemed to lift

 

Then I got to the apartment and wanted to go to sleep, but there was no bed linen, there was no pillow, there were people lining up to get my signature for this, get my water sorted out, get the electricity card topped up … each of the utilities require a card, like a phone card, which you stick into the meter and it tells you how much you have left.  Naturally, my hot water card was faulty so I could not even have a shower before I was whisked off the the PM office (property management) to do things.  I had no idea at the time what I was doing and I seem to have curtained off that little bit of time in my mind.

I did get a moment to peer out of the windows and this is what I saw:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

