Fat bottomed girls…

Yes, I bought a bike.

Having a bike is like having a pair of wings.  I can fly through the humidity and stay unsweaty, that in itself makes my bike my most precious possession – diamonds be damned!

In my early forays, while trying to get used to cycling in a straight line and not laughing the whole time because it was so delightful, I noticed that people would stare at me now and then.  I figured it was because I was weaving and wobbling and laughing my head off, but this staring has continued.

The other day, I finally figured out that I am an oddity, even in a big, international city like Beijing.  I’m blonde, voluptuous (ahem) and on the end of the young spectrum, and I’m riding a bike.

So, I started shouting out “Ni hao!” to all my staring fans and have been thrilled when most return a surprised, wide-smiled “Hi!” or “Hello!” or “Ni hao!” and some, mostly the passengers, even give me a jaunty wave.  Now, I am not expert enough at this bicycling business to return such a wave, but one day…

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Finding China and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fat bottomed girls…

  1. Alex Swan says:

    Sounds like your having a ball! I’m shocked, I thought the bike thing was a joke. I was cleaning out my wallet and discovered your business card and vaugely remember your words “he won’t stay in contact”. Well now who’s laughing! Hope everything is going well and that you had a great Christmas & New Year. Have you ran into kochie?

    • Bike thing no joke and now I am bike less because somebody stole it!

      Good to hear from you. I hear you are quite the man about town…

      Email me and let me know how you are getting on with everything.

    • Hey! Nice to hear from you! No, the bike thing is not a joke. But some sneaky fellow stole my lovely bike the other day, cross about that, but it does make me a real Beijinger!

      Hope you are doing well.

Well whaddaya think of that?

