The dastardly nature of a beautiful landscape (or, yet another excuse for not writing)

I have done very little in the way of writing since coming to Beijing.  Well, if I am to be honest, I have done very little in the way of writing for a very long time. But there are reasons!

I had a lovely conversation about the activity and experience of writing with a colleague the other day which made me want to run home immediately and sit down at my computer and get back into the game.

However, while in Shanghai I bought a post card which is a print of a panoramic painting of a province in old China on a concertina of about 20 postcards.  I had it stuck up on my wall so that the panorama turned a corner at one point.  The province appeared to be wrapped around my desk.  All very inspirational.

So, I eventually got home and sat down at my desk and looked at the post card for inspiration and get totally sucked in to the story of the painting.  And wrote nothing.

The next morning, I arose to find the panorama was too heavy for the blue tack I had used, so now it is sitting in a forlorn pile beside my computer and I am still not writing!

The Western-most edge of Suzhou

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

