Did I say that?!

So a quick look back at my blog tells me just how naive I am.

1. Does it get cold?  – MY WORD!  An icy wind from the cold heart of Mongolia that was stolen from the steppes of Russia has descended upon benign Beijing and whipped the residual warmth of summer out of my apartment, out of my office and classroom and out of my body.  I cannot believe how cold it has become and how suddenly it has become cold and how cold it has become!!
2. My stuff has arrived. – No, it hasn’t.  I am still waiting.  And in that shipment are things like doona (I am sleeping in a sleeping bag – have been since I arrived!!), carpets for the floor, tea towels (oh, tea towels!) and sort of warm clothing.  Truly, I am ill-prepared for this!

3. It’s quiet. – No, it’s not.  Remember that my windows face Carrefour and remember that that sanctuary for spruikers sounds like a gathering of banshees on coke.  Obviously I cannot hear the banshees but I can hear the cars they came in, everyone of them tooting their little brains out incessantly.  Imagine that you toot to let someone know you are behind them because it is tight and difficult to manoeuver in the car park – that’s polite and helpful.  Now, imagine that you do that every three seconds, for what reason I cannot fathom because you don’t even want to go in their direction!  Now multiply that one crazy way of thinking by 1000 and you will have what it sounds like on a Saturday and Sunday morning.  Double glazing – pah!
Now I am going to go away and ponder my positivity.

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did I say that?!

  1. O gosh! I hope your stuff come very soon! Love your posts Miss! Keep them coming! 😀

  2. Yeah, I hope so too!! Hope you’re doing well and that League of Extraordinary Gentlemen you hang out with are still wonderful.

Well whaddaya think of that?

