D.I.Y.

Feeling very independent, self-sufficient and proud, I took myself off to the hardware store yesterday to buy a hammer and a spirit level.  I have a couple of pictures and things to put up and a whole lot more coming – yes, coming, though I now have a sort-of date for the arrival of my stuff: late days next week.  Anyway, I wended my way through the maze that is a hardware store and found the hammer but not a spirit level and for some reason, I thought they might be near each other.  As I was looking I came across that delightful creature called the ready-made tool kit, complete with hammer and spirit level.

Now, at this point I was ready to remodel the bathroom so thought, of course I need everything in that tool kit even though I don’t know the names for some of those things.

So, off I toddled home all excited about my new adventures in D.I.Y.  When I got the tool set out of it’s packaging, I cam across a very unexpected obstacle.  There was a sheet of plastic covering the tool.  Now, this sheet of rather hefty plastic as screwed onto the frame of the tool box.  Like this:

So, there is the screw holding down the plastic and under the plastic … the screwdriver.

The other funny thing was that I did not have a pair of scissors.  My new tool box had some – under the screwed down plastic…

Later, when I had solved the problem through ingenious use of my one knife, I set about hanging the pictures.  Hefting my new hammer and approaching the wall with determination and a real sense of domination, I struck the first blow in my D.I.Y. career and began pounding the hook into the wall.  Here is the result:

I would love to tell you that the photo is upside down, but, alas, it is not.

However, I did manage to successfully get the pictures hung before the end of the day, but that hook there, I cannot get it out of the wall!  Here is my eventual handy work:

So, pride back in place!

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Telling tales about myself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

