SNOW!!!

I woke up this morning, early for a Sunday, and was looking down on the roof of a carpark of a building opposite and the thin morning light was shining off the pooled rain water on the roof and I lay there, deliciously imagining that it was snow.  We had a squally night last night and the winds of winter continue to get colder.

Then I got up and had a look out the window and this is what I saw:

Imagine my stupefied delight when I realised that what I had imagined was snow, was indeed snow!!  The cars were covered, the grass was cover!  It was real, fair dinkum snow.  I stood, shivering, on my balcony for ages just looking at it.  Even feeling the bite of the air I just found it too hard to comprehend.  Yes, I have seen snow before, but I have gone to it, it has never come to me.
I arrived 15 weeks ago.  The air then was so thick with moisture and pollution that it was almost impossible to breathe, let alone move.  Then, just four weeks ago it was New Moon Festival time and the weather was just as perfect as it could get.  And now, the snow I didn’t believe I would see at all, and at a push in January some time…  Wow.

Right, going outside to play.  Because, it is still snowing, still in the act!  That is even more amazing than it snowed, that it is still snowing.  I can see flakes in the sky…wondrous stuff!  I feel like I am 12 and I am loving it!

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Little bits of life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

