Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Here’s the thing:  snow, except for the stuff that you make a deliberate trip to get to and do something on, has always been a myth for me.  It snowed on me for the first time in Paris a few years ago but it melted before it even hit the ground so wasn’t really the mythical being that I see on Christmas cards.

So, Wednesday morning, I step out of my building to go to work, to go to WORK I tell you, and it is snowing!  All around me and sticking on the ground and making the pavement so very slippery – I fell three times between home and work (a five minute walk)!

Perhaps you don’t understand – it was snowing as I went to something as mundane and ordinary as work.  I had not planned this!  It just happened!  For no reason!

That myth became such a reality over the last few days.  I have never been so excited in my entire adult life.  I actually felt like my insides were going to burst out I was that excited.  Thankfully I teach Grade 7 and they were just as excited as me and so when I suggested we go outside and play in it, well, they were out the door as quick as you like!  We had a ball.  We made snow angels, we made snowmen, we wrote fanciful things in the snow, we went sliding over the field, we danced, we even sung a little!

I did not have my camera with me to photograph the snowmen that we made, but I have collected a few snowmen over the last couple of days for your viewing pleasure. My favorite is the smoking snowman…


About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Little bits of life, Snow in Beijing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

