the smallest forest = big inspiration

I follow a blog called “The Smallest Forest” and it is the singular and most consistently interesting and motivating blog.  One of the things that it has motivated me to do is make and keep a journal.  So, right now, I am flat out making background for the journal.  And it is lots of fun. I even preferred making that journal to watching Breaking Bad – which I have only just ‘discovered’.

20140112_211537

This is one page.  The fly came into being because I had Lord of the Flies sitting on my desk.  The paints I can recall buying in England for 18GBP way back in 1998.  I can remember how much they cost because I had hardly any money and was convinced that a pocket water colour set was exactly what I needed to ignore my poverty happily.  As it turned out, I forgot about paper,  I did use the back of train tickets and beer mats and the like, but keeping myself in paper wasn’t as important as keeping myself in food and drink (more of the latter than anything else I think) and so they got packed and lay dormant for many years.  And now… a fly.

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Art, Little bits of life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

