Three Things

Three things happened today:

1. I went to the greengrocer to buy some peaches. The young weigh-and-price person (not convinced if it were a she or a he) charmingly helped me remove from the large roll lying in the peach box a bag in which to put my peaches. The very pleasant person watched me for a few, no many moments, while I struggled and used every trick in the book and simply tried in vain to open the bag. The young person came to my rescue, not a moment to soon – I was ready to live without the peaches – and opened it immediately. She (or he) held out the bag for me to inspect and I saw that I had been trying to open the side. Well, I laughed, hands on knees kind of a laugh, and the young person said “funny,” which made it all the funnier.

2. The taxi driver that I took to get home took me down my usual streets but gave me a tour as we went. He said “taxi” and pointed all about him. We were in the street that houses many little food shops at which hundreds of taxis at a time park beside and have a break. My cha fu (driver) pointed to the food shops and mimed eating. He pointed to the card players, five of them, bunched up on tiny stool beside the trunk of a young tree, and mimed what seemed to be drinking so, unless he meant that taxi drivers were playing drinking games, I think I might have missed his meaning. The he started laughing and pointed at a lovely big new black vehicle that a policeman was slapping some sort of notices on. Cha fu tsked and wagged his finger but didn’t stop laughing.

3. When I got home, I discovered that the crotch of my trousers had split. Enough to make a very good showing.

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

