Ch-ch-ch-changes

I’ve been in Beijing for two and half years and, while I am still totally beguiled by Beijing, I am really far too lazy to take photographs of all the marvellous things I see and then transfer them magically to the computer and then find that sweet spot in time where I can actually access this blog and put the pictures, again rather magically, onto the blog.

So, why the change to Quilt Trip?

I have found myself hooked by the quilting bug. I don’t even know how I came to this particular craft but I made my first quilt in a matter of days, including binding it which, at the time, I did not realise was a very hard thing to do, but I watched a you tube video from the Missouri Star Quilt Company (www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vCWpxBRs20) and followed that and managed to create a fully bound quilt that I am pretty pleased with:image[1] Quilt1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My new little goal is to document each stage of the thinking and creating behind my quilts.  I have not yet followed a pattern, I like the challenge of figuring out what to do with the fabric I have bought (and I have bought soooo much…).  I had no idea that there was so much mathematical skill required.  My brain is becoming much more agile!

Anyway, that’s my new focus.  I hope that some of you stay with me and I hope that others on quilt trips of their own will join me.

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Quilt Math!, Quilt process, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Donna Yeo says:

    Hi Kathryn

    I love the quilt Donna

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Joylene Woodward says:

    Hey there…. Love the quilt… And WELL DONE with the binding!! I managed to finish a quilt on Saturday night that I had started when Amy was a baby!! Might not be her cot quilt, but it’s still pretty cute! Love you and miss you and look forward to the quilting journey!! Love Joylene x

    Sent from my iPhone

Well whaddaya think of that?

