Alexia’s Quilt

(Nicole, if you are reading this, pretend the quilt is a HUGE surprise when it arrives!)

I was on the lookout for some nice shabby chic type fabric that wasn’t too pretty or pink.  I found Rosewater by Verna Mosquera for Free Spirit Fabrics.

I liked the robustness of the check and stripe against the more floral fabrics and set about designing a pattern for a large quilt.

This is the basic block pattern:

AQ Pattern

 

rosewater peppermint block

 

 

 

 

 

And this is the finished product:

AQ Finished 2I pieced the back together from four different checked fabric because I could not find enough of any one fabric that would work a whole back.  And I bought the entire supply of each of the four fabrics used that the shop had in stock.  As it turns out I am really pleased with the result, and I had enough to bind the quilt as well.  The binding uses all four back colours and looks quite nice if you ask me!

I quilted it by running on top of each seam on the back and then 1/4inch to the right and a 1/4 inch to the left.  Because the front of the quilt is quite busy, this minimalistic approach has a very nice effect on the front.

I have named it Alexia’s Quilt and hope that she likes it half as much as I do!

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Drawings of quilts, Finished quilts, Quilt process and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alexia’s Quilt

  1. Nicole says:

    Oh Miss Yeo!!! Such a beautiful quilt. I am so surprised and overwhelmed that you have made this for Alexia, she will, I know, love it. Thank you. xx

Well whaddaya think of that?

