I made dinner!

I’ve never been good in the kitchen.  My culinary skills are limited to picking up my knife and fork.  This year, I hope to change that a little.  I am trying to learn how to cook and have challenged myself to make one thing a week.  So far, I have made muffins that turned out like rock buns and steak – all by itself.  On my list of new skills to learn is the art of folding and making a sauce to go with my lonely steak.

This week I tried out a creamy mushroom, asparagus and pea pasta sauce and…success!  Edible!  Quite yummy!  Can make again!!

Recipe?

Melt a little butter in a large pan and gently cook some crushed garlic.  Add as much mushroom, asparagus and green peas as you like and let that all cook down in the mushroom juice.  Add a wee bit of stock (I used beef because it was all I had and it was good) and then some creme fraiche. Put some chopped green stuff in – I used rocket because my herb choice is limited but it was ok.  Then mix the cooked pasta in – I used curly stuff because I had it, I am sure that a flatter pasta like the bow tie stuff would be better.

Woo hoo!

About Birdie in Beijing

Live in Beijing from 2012 til .... who knows? Right now, it suits me just fine.
This entry was posted in Learning to cook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Well whaddaya think of that?

